Slice of Summer

Farmers’ Market. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2. Backyard barbecues. Los Altos Arts & Wine Festival. Bought a forest green and wood picnic chair from the REI garage sale. Took my new picnic chair to the outdoor jazz concert series at Stanford. Garage sale hunting (favorite finds: a portable Weber grill for $4, unopened Wedgwood casserole dish for $7). The public library – got a new library card to replace the one I’ve had since second grade. Walking through the Redwood Grove Preserve. Walking behind private backyards to Shoup Park. Walked the creek bed in Shoup Park. Listened to Ye Olde Towne Band in Shoup Park for an entire afternoon, reading Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins on a beach blanket. This is the first summer we didn’t go to Half Moon Bay or any beach; it was too cold. Helped Esther move into her San Francisco apartment. Went to a dog park and a dahlia competition. Afternoon tennis. Picking fruit (plums, oranges, lemons). Picking lavender, getting bee-stung.

Read Aimee Bender (enjoyed). Read Catherynne M. Valente (enjoyed less). Read Jorge Luis Borges (grew on me). Read a whole lot of other stuff. Dropped off ARCs of now-released-books around town in a belated Rock the Drop. Drove myself to our old house. Saw the changes. Didn’t go digging in the front yard for that thing I buried, it was light out. Didn’t end up driving at night.

This is from the weekend I went up to San Francisco to see Esther, Cam and Kelly, and Jenn! We had a delicious brunch at Abstine. Wound up in the late afternoon at the Waterbar. Boozy day.

I hardly eat fruit during the rest of the year, but I gorge myself on summer fruit. My one real regret for this summer is that yet again, I had to leave before the blackberries ripened by the creek in Shoup Park.

I came across The Pioneer Woman Cooks’ bacon-wrapped jalapeno poppers recipe 2-3 years ago. The description sounded awesome, and I was dying to try it, even though I didn’t especially like bacon, jalapenos, or cream cheese. I finally got the chance to make it this summer.

Sweet baguette from Nob Hill. Bacon, chopped up. Homemade chives (from the backyard!) in butter dip.

Whole wheat naan from Trader Joe’s, chicken thigh meat (marinated with rosemary and salt, cut into small strips), green Indian pesto sauce, sliced avocado, mixed greens, 1 scrambled egg. My sister made this over the summer, and it was delicious.

This is from BJ’s Brewery. Their Jeremiah Red beer is also not bad.

See you next year, California!

2 thoughts on “Slice of Summer

Leave a Reply

