Bits-n-bats

So Mixtape Monday was a bust. I was nuts to think I could do one every week. It’s probably going to end up something like Mixtape Every Other Monday.

My review of Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins is up! I had fun writing this one. Thoroughly enjoyable book, plus, I had great memories to go with it. I read it during a Ye Olde Towne Band concert in Shoup Park. We picnicked on a delicious sandwiches from Whole Foods and lounged in beach chairs and on blankets.

Last Friday – Kshiti hosted an awesome get-together for the fiction writers (and two poets). Highlight: churro cake with chocolate cinnamon pudding icing, which actually tops the birthday butterbeer cake. Now I’m hungry. Also, there were leftover ingredients, so SUPPOSEDLY our workshop might get churro cupcakes this Wednesday. Fingerscrossed!

I love this new cold weather. It only lasted three days, but I think/hope that it’s cut the legs out from under this humidity. Got to wear leggings today.

Borrowed Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, Volume 1 from Jesse. Am excited to read this! Also borrowed Magic For Beginners from Carlea! Switching between this book and Pretty Monsters. I also made my class read “The Faery Handbag.” Maybe I get a little bit of a rush choosing stories for the syllabus. Not a mad, power-hungry rush. But like a benevolent, HA! rush. Maybe there’s no difference. Ok, also I like sharing favorite stories.

4 thoughts on “Bits-n-bats

  1. All that food…. I’m starving now! Haha!

    Sandman, eh? I have an MFA friend who is ridiculously knowledgeable about all comics known to man…. and so of course he has the entire Sandman collection. So last fall, actually, I ripped through the whole thing. I kind of miss having a huge stack of them in my office, haha. I’m not a fan of the artwork most of the time, but the story is really good. I think you’ll like it.

    Cool! I’m glad the Link story went well in your class! I’m thinking of using it too for one of the upcoming lessons; so excited :)

    1. Yeah! The artwork of the first book that I haven’t isn’t to my taste, but I’m definitely looking forward to reading the story; I’ve heard so much about it, bits and pieces of great concepts and whatnot.

      Yes! There is much to discuss about the story. We focused mainly on narrative voice and description, and the working in of the magical element. I’ve had my kids read some pretty weird stuff, but this was definitely the most fantastical, and I venture to say most of them really liked it.

Leave a Reply

