First Week, Done!

School has started, and it’s great being back. There’s always been some degree of homesickness wherever I travel or move to, but there’s never any of that when I fly back here. Which I credit to being lucky enough to have ended up in a program with people who I love hanging out with and whose writing I look forward to reading.

I went to a Kellie Wells reading yesterday, and the informal sit-down chat in the afternoon. I didn’t plan to because I thought I’d be too nervous about my first class (went fine), but I woke up at 6 and was getting antsy killing time in the apartment. So I went to the reading, and I loved it so much that I stayed for the talk, too. She read “The Girl, The Wolf, The Crone”, a retelling of little red riding hood from the My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me anthology, and a chapter from her forthcoming novel, Fat Girl, Terrestrial. And I can’t even describe how excellent the reading was. I thought I’d be nervously eyeballing my watch to make sure I wasn’t late for class, but I was totally transported. I’m really looking forward to her novel. The voice of the novel’s main character, Wallace, is addictive.

She said something interesting in the reading, too, which is that she didn’t hit upon the idea of writing a fairy tale first. Instead, she was playing around with a comic, cartoonish voice and asked herself what kind of form could let her do that. And then the fairy tale genre followed as a way to accommodate that voice, what with the “flatness of characters” (the huntsman, the girl, etc. need no explanation; they can just stand as who they are).

I also really like her sensibility and approach to workshop. Wish I could get the chance to work with her.

For my own reference, the jet lag wake-up tally rolls in at: 4:30 AM, 5:00 AM, 2:00 AM, 6:15 AM, 12:00 AM/7:00 AM (double wake-up on the same day). Bedtimes typically range from 6 PM to 10 PM. 10:30 was really pushing it.

In other news, I love these illustrations by Bluefooted. See: harpy, Cat-Skin, Queen Titania, Alice and the Gryphon, and the goddess Nyx.

2 thoughts on “First Week, Done!

  1. Aw, loved hearing about your experience at that reading. The “flatness of character” comment is also really interesting — have never thought about it that way, but it makes sense.

    1. I think you would have found it really awesome, too! And yeah—I like that idea, that it’s basically a stock character, and you can fill it with as strange of a voice as you can imagine.

Leave a Reply

