History of Mystery (1/2)

A couple years ago, Jenn gave me the I Spy Necklace for Christmas. I…love this piece. The magnifying glass actually works, it was part of my Nancy Drew costume for Halloween (to be honest, the only Nancy Drew-ish thing about that outfit), and I basically feel pretty sleuth-y when I wear it.

So I love all things sleuth/spy. This post has been a long time coming because I like to think about the beginnings and whys of things. In high school, I was a huge fan of Alias (later in college, Veronica Mars), and my go-to comfort reading is still the mystery genre. The first story I ever wrote was a mystery. I remember working really hard on it and being impressed by my own cleverness in dropping “clues” to foreshadow the conclusion. Years later I found that story. It made zero sense.

My earliest recollection of loving mystery is when I got hooked on Cam Jansen mysteries in the first grade. Went around blinking (for some reason just winking was really hard then) and saying “click” to myself for a month.

After Cam there was a landside into mystery: Encyclopedia Brown, the Boxcar Children, the Three Investigators, Nate the Great, Enid Blyton’s Five Find-Outers series, the Hardy Boys, and the requisite Nancy Drew. After a family friend gave me practically all of his middle grade/YA library when I was 9 or 10, which included the entire collection of Nancy Drew novels (Mystery Stories series and Nancy Drew Files series), I read at least two new Nancy Drew books a day. I also consumed those 5 Minute Mysteries books like milk (milk being my drink of choice as a kid) and usually with my glass of milk. Eventually I got around to more complicated stuff. The first step in that direction was Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. And it just got better!

In a follow-up post, I’ll share some of the recent/contemporary mystery books that I love.

2 thoughts on “History of Mystery (1/2)

  1. Eep! I love that you’re writing about this, and aww to the intro. I’m honored to have made it into the post! :D

    I definitely read a most of the series you mentioned, but my favorites had to be Boxcar Children and Nancy Drew. And, did you ever read the Sweet Valley books that had mystery bents to them that came later on? I totally read those as well, haha.

    Also, since we’re on the topic of mystery books and nostalgia, I have to leave you with this: https://twitter.com/katherinemiller/status/297801532966060032

    1. Haha, YES! I definitely read The Babysitters Club AND Sweet Valley books with mystery slants to them.

      Also, geez, I did not remember how smug Nancy is.

Leave a Reply

