“City Girls”

My story “City Girls” is up at fwriction : review! You can read it here. This is exciting for me because I’ve followed Fwriction for a long time. I found a lot of terrific and favorite short stories through editor Danny Goodman’s Story of the Day posts.

Also, a cool thing the journal does is ask writers to select a song to accompany their stories. I chose “On Powdered Ground” by Agnes Obel.

Other writing news: All I’ve been writing is flash lately. And I started Lightning Cake, a tiny ‘zine where I illustrate speculative flash fiction. I would like at this time to thank Carlea for all the name brainstorming and guiding me away from some pretty bad names. Anyway, everyone should check it out because all the pieces so far have been awesome—delightful, strange, super marvelous. So far there are four pieces, with more electrifying bites to come.

Reading news: Last week I finished Karin Tidbeck’s collection Jagannath. A lot of people have been saying a lot of good things about this collection, and it’s all true. It’s very imaginative, but what makes it stand out for me is the language. Reading the stories, all the words feel freshly used, new. Also, this week I read her short story “I Have Placed My Sickness Upon You” on Strange Horizons. It’s melancholy and kind of funny and great.

I just finished Patricia Brigg’s Frost Burned, which was excellent. Hands down one of my favorite urban fantasy (or paranormal I guess) series. I will admit it took me three tries to get into it (success on the third try). It was my fault: I went into it expecting a relaxed, casual reading and wasn’t very focused on it and then got frustrated for missing things because the writing is packed. So much action happens on just one line, and it would happen line to line. Anyway, this summer I gave it a third try (actually being a good reader about it this time), and I was effing hooked. And now I am sad because who knows when the next book will be out.

Now I’m about to start reading Karen Russell’s Vampires in the Lemon Grove: Stories. She’s participating in the Writers Here & Now at UMD, and I AM SO BUMMED I’m not there for it!

Leave a Reply

