Happy 2014!

Hey, Happy New Year!

Writing goals for this year: Risk more—no mercy! Finish draft 1! And, don’t fall off the write every day wagon!

In reading news, things I’ve read lately: This thoughtful review of my friend Carlea Holl-Jensen’s wonderful piece, “The Hollow”, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo, and The Color Master: Stories by Aimee Bender (still reading this one).

In writing news: I made my first pro sale of 2014 this week to Suddenly Lost in Words, a YA short fiction publication. “Ascension” will appear in Volume 4.

My short story, “Model Home” has been made available online at New Haven Review! Print edition is forthcoming in early February.

A review of NANO Fiction 7.1 makes a nice mention of my included piece.

2 thoughts on “Happy 2014!

  1. I just finished reading “Model Home.” Wooow. I feel like it was so real – I may not have gone through what the family did exactly, but the act of looking for houses / apartments / Etc can be very misleading. When you’re looking at the lovely models, you tend to forget that you have to decorate and live in a blank canvas of a home, not a model that someone else designed. I wonder what’s going to happen to the boy, haha. I’m still thinking about him.

    Anyway, Happy 2014!!!! May we accomplish our writing goals this year! You’re getting short stories published all over the place and it’s so exciting to read each one :)

    1. Thank you for reading, Kim! I love models and miniatures—the builders are always so good at creating something that just fires my imagination.

      Happy 2014 to you, too! You’re fantastic at reaching your writing goals, so I’m definitely going to be following the example you’ve set, and keeping an eye out for all those projects you’ve got lined up!

Leave a Reply

